The primary curriculum is divided into three phases — Foundation Stage, Key Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2) and Key Stage 2 (Years 3–6).

The Foundation Stage

Foundation Stage 1 children attend on a part-time basis the term after their third birthday for their 15 hours flexible free entitlement. For some, it is their first experience of life in an environment outside home and family, which can be an exciting venture. We strive to make this important phase in every child’s life secure, safe and happy.

Reception Class

Foundation Stage 2 children are encouraged to become independent learners through play. The day is divided into a number of sessions covering a variety of areas of learning. During these sessions there is a balance of adult-led and child-led activities.

Prime Areas

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design